Golden Bargain {lamp makeover}

Once upon a time, I stumbled across this awesome little lamp for ONE DOLLAR at the flea market. $1 people and it actually works!
flea market lampMy plan was just to clean it up, buy a shade and paint the discolored hardware and I almost did that. Cleaning worked wonders and I found a $5 shade at Ikea that fit. (they didn’t have any more of these on my last couple of trips there. That will teach me to hoard cheap lampshades the first time I see them :( ) flea market lamp before

I’ve used it in a few different rooms but it has stayed just like this and it’s not so bad but I kept putting off painting the hardware because even if it was shiny and new the lamp was still old looking. Don’t get me wrong, I like “old looking,” but to me it wasn’t “old looking,” in a charming kind of way, just a tired kind of way.

When making any decision, I take too long. I like to think about it from all angles, consider all possibilities, costs, things that could go wrong, things that could go right- I’ll stop before I tire you even more, but can I just say thanks, Daddy for that awesome trait before moving on? :)

But sometimes, a $1 lamp is just a $1 lamp and you’ve got to stop thinking about it and just grab that can of spray paint (that took you a full 5 minutes in the paint aisle to pick out a color #iammyfathersdaughter) and PAINT!!!!  flea market lampt

I did it and I like it :) I wanted a metallic finish, but interesting. I started with a thin dusting of my favorite silver (used here and here) then layered on pretty gold. I just gave it another dusting of each color at different angles to vary the way it landed on each facet. And had so much fun painting that I didn’t take any pictures of the layers, but you get the idea.

flea market lamp

It looks mostly gold but if you look very closely, the shimmer of the silver is there too and it’s really pretty and a huge improvement. At least I think so. Flea Market Lamp Collage 2

Beautiful things can happen when you just make up your mind grab some spray paint. This really is one of my most favorite spray paint projects ever. It may look a bit like Epcot (nothing wrong with that!) but it also reminds me a bit of this lamp that I’ve seen pop up everywhere at about 10% of the cost. I can even see changing it to a bright fun color when I’m tired of the gold.

flea market lamp


I already had the paint so this lamp and shade cost me a whopping $6 and I happen to think it looks at least like $30. How is that for a healthy ROI? Have you been up-cycling any thrifty finds lately? Want to see some other great ideas? Check out the blogs below for TONS of inspiration!

Love of Family & Home,  The Francis Family BlogHouse of RoseBlissfully Ever After,  Crafty, Scrappy, HappyDesign, Dining & DiapersOur Fifth HouseI Love You More Than Carrots and Liz Marie Blog.

5 thoughts on “Golden Bargain {lamp makeover}

Leave a Comment

