Making the Grade {2012 Goal Review}

Can you believe January is over halfway over? Christmas will be here again like tomorrow and I’m still cleaning up red glitter! 2012 flew by and (surprise, surprise) I did NOT accomplish all my goals but I made progress. Let’s take a look back at how I did, shall we? (Did you miss these? I started them here and did a check in here)

AROUND THE HOUSE:

1. Bonus Room – Surprisingly, this one is about to pick us some steam. WE BOUGHT A COUCH! Woohoo! And paint! Putting it all together is a January goal so stay tuned but here’s a little sneak preview until then.  Grade: Bbonus room curtain

2. Guest Bedroom– This is barely progress, but I bought curtains at Ikea that I plan to use in there and I think I’ve picked out bedding and a paint color. Hopefully February or March will bring some progress but for now, this is a very rough idea of what I’m thinking. It looks like lots of crazy pattern, but I have a plan Grade: C-Home Sweet Here: Guest Room Inspiration

3. Laundry Room- Does having a vision in my head count? I didn’t think so. I reorganize and change out baskets and such, but it’s still a work in progress. Until I can get some cabinets for over the washer and dryer there won’t be much change.  Grade: F

4. Grow something- Done! There were a few minor setbacks (aphids on the tomatoes and awful squash beetles) but I count my garden as a HUGE success. We had lettuce, peppers, tomatoes and HERBS galore.  I can’t wait for round 2 in the Spring! Grade: A+ 

Home Sweet Here Lettuce(more on the garden here, here, here and here)

5. Hang Curtains-This was a slam dunk. We totally took care of this. Thanks, BFF! Grade: A+ DSC_0463

6. Light It UpI completed one set of lamps and moved the other set to a different room but that’s about it. I still cannot decide what I want to do with them, so for now they stay the same. Grade: CLamp Before and After

7. Christmas in July- I did a little better, but still not as good as I wanted to. Remind me next year that I really want to get things done super early, please? Grade: C-Red and Green Tree: Home Sweet Here

IN THE KITCHEN

1. Add Some Variety- I may have not shared all of it, but I say we definitely tried some new things out. Maybe sharing could be a 2013 goal? Grade: B+

2. Try Some Classics- This had a long list. Basically I made homemade biscuits and that’s about it. Whatevs. Grade: D-biscuits

ORGANIZATION

1. Jewelry- I did it. It worked and then I got tired of it. I already changed it so can that count for 2013 too? Grade: Ajewelry organization

2. My Closet- The thing about organization is it only works when you find the right system for you. You can copy every issue of Real Simple for the rest of your life, but until you find what works for you, it doesn’t work. What am I saying? My closet was a hot mess when 2012 ended BUT that was one of the first things I fixed this year. It will always be a work in progress, but I’m getting there. Grade: C

3. The Office- See above and then go here and here. The short version of this story: does my desk still get cluttery? Yes. Does it stay that way? Nope. Not a perfect system, but it’s working and evolving. I may have some 2013 updates for you soon (hint, hint) Grade: B-Desk Organization

BLOG GOALS

1. Home Tour-Progress, but barely. Here’s to 2013! Grade: Dhome tour

2. Design/Mood/Inspiration Boards- Nope. Never did it. I keep my mood boards in my head and the one above does not count. Maybe next year. Grade: F

3. Get to know you- Well, we added some followers this year (THANK YOU!)  and got more comments so I count this as a success! This was all you, so well done. Keep up the good work with some more comments, please! Grade: A+ for you

AND A FEW PERSONAL THINGS

1. Take a vacation- Done and it was totally worth it. We saved our tax return and went to Hilton Head (read more here and here). We went to the beach everyday, out to dinner every night and even took a little trip to see Paula. I count this as a major success of 2012. Grade: A+++ DSC_0133DSC_0498

2. Paint my fingernails- I did it! I didn’t have them painted all the time, but more than before and I even got some new nail polish. I’m an overachiever, I know :)  Grade: A

3. Enjoy- Done and Done. Let’s try this again in 2013! Grade: A+

Overall, I was actually kind of excited when I checked back. I might have been a bit ambitious with a few of my goals and I don’t know that I will have quite this extensive list for 2013. What is the deadline for setting those? March maybe? :)

Overall, it was a great year and I count any accomplishnemts, big or small, as major victories. How did you do on your 2012 goals and do you have any yet for 2013?

3 thoughts on “Making the Grade {2012 Goal Review}

  1. I like this wrap up. YOu have done so much! My house is a work in progress. I was in the process of making over the master bedroom, that came to a halt and now I am thinking about an entire new color scheme in there. it never ends! but I’ll admit its fun.
    Congratulations on finding a couch – that was a hunt that took us a few months.
    Any way, lovely post A++

  2. Pingback: DIY vs. BSN {Bonus Room Preview} | Home Sweet Here

Leave a Comment

