(Almost) Cute as a Button Cookies

Alternate title: How I almost flunked out of Country Living.

December County LivingDo you ever look through a magazine and really, really believe you can duplicate something in there? I’m sure we all do, and I know a lot of you actually succeed. Not me. I really, really wanted to have something fantabulous for this week’s Dare to DIY link party (Newly WoodwardsDecor and the DogMaybe Matilda and Two Twenty One) and the fun little semi-DIY gloves on page 58 were so stinking cute.

Country Living GlovesI had my supplies and my heart was set on making the “book worm” ones for my BFF, the librarian. (Dear BFF, don’t worry, I didn’t make them and I wouldn’t expect you to wear them anyway. I just liked the idea of making them for you and giving them to you but alas, failure.)

I tried and I could not make them look good enough to even finish all the letters. Oh well. Moving on. (But, before I move too far along please allow me to remind you of this same challenge last year. While my coasters turned out pretty good, I still have nightmares about all the awful salt dough ornaments I threw away.)

The challenge of the week was thankfully not to make gloves, but simply homemade gifts and can’t think of anything better than homemade cookies packaged super cute so I turned to another page of my December Country Living and attempted the Sugar Cookie Buttons because a) they were cute b) I had all the ingredients c) how hard is a sugar cookie? (you will soon learn the double meaning of that statement) and finally d) I could not let this magazine win.

I made them, pretty much according to the directions expect the chilling the dough for half an eternity twice part and baking them until they are bricks part (or so I thought).

I still think the idea of button cookies is so cute and actually easy to execute. You just start with a regular circular cookie. Button hole Collage

Then use a cookie cutter that is one size smaller for the indention. Stick in some straws to make the holes and you’ve got buttons! Once you take them out of the oven, you make need to use a skewer to clear out the holes totally but that’s still pretty easy. Button Cookies

They turned out pretty cute. Most of them, at least. And I really like the idea of tying up your cookies for a gift, cookie exchange, or just to limit your self to four in one setting.  The dough tasted GREAT. (I know you’re not supposed to eat that stuff, but seriously, who can wait for the cookies? Not this girl! I live on the edge) The cookies are supposed to be  hard and I don’t love hard cookies so I adjusted the cooking time. That resulted in pretty good cookies. I don;t know that I would use this recipe for a real gift without some tweaking, but I still adore the packaging idea. If you want to use slice-and-bake from the grocery store, I won’t tell anyone at all. Actually, send me a few because I know they will probably turn out  better than these. (they really weren’t that bad, I’m being dramatic. mostly)Button Cookies

So maybe I didn’t totally flunk out of my magazine ambitions, but I don’t consider this one a slam dunk but sometimes all you learn is what makes it worth it. I learned my cross-stitching skills did not accompany me to this millennium, cute packaging really does make a differnece and when in doubt- use slice and bake. Ahh, wisdom. You can thank me later.

Don’t forget to check out all the other (way more successful projects) for the Dare to DIY party with Newly WoodwardsDecor and the DogMaybe Matilda and Two Twenty One for lots more ideas and inspiration.Button Cookies

20 thoughts on “(Almost) Cute as a Button Cookies

  1. I think these turned out adorable! Truly cute as a button!

    I think you succeeded this week. Despite a bit of a glove emergency. Why, Country Living, do you make everything look easier than it is? ;)

    Thakns for linking up to Dare to DIY!

  2. Pingback: Give Me an “S” {Christmas Tree Topper} | Home Sweet Here

Leave a Comment

