MYOTL {Make Your Own Table Linens}

Hello, my name is Brandy and I love to set the table. I am a tablescape-aholic. Admitting it is the first step and the second is to get out the candles! I love my table and she just so happens to love to dress up. Christmas time makes us both very, very happy.

It can be something simple- a centerpiece, using real napkins, candles- you name it. Or sometime it can be not so simple. Don’t get me wrong, you can never ever go wrong with classic white or black napkins, but sometimes a table needs a little more. Let me share a little secret with you. It is crazy easy to make this stuff yourself. No perfectionism or experience required. I’ve seen tons of people use hem tape for things like this, but I think it’s just as easy to use the sewing machine. If you can sew a relatively straight line, you can make just about anything for your table.

I used the same fool-proof (aka me-proof) method that worked for me this summer for some fun napkins. It’s basically Iron, Pin…Then sew! It’s SEW easy! I did the same steps for my napkins and table runners and used quilting fabric from Joann (with a coupon!) so it was even cheaper than finding them on sale ready made. And who doesn’t like saying, “I made it!” when someone tells you how nice your table looks?

I am in no way good at sewing. My lines are never perfect and nothing is ever square, but I really like how it turned out! Take a look for yourself. I made three large table runners.

Look closely and you can see the little silver dots…

I also made a couple of sets of napkins. The bright red stripe.

And a silver-sparkled white set that matches the runners.

The center piece is just red lanterns from Ikea (inspired by my most recent trip) on silver chargers piled high with Dollar Tree ornaments.

The center one is on a little pedestal my father-in-law made for me. Yep, he made it. Actually he made me a set of three, and I love them! I just added my mercury glass votives that I got for last year’s table and my favorite red goblets. Makes DIY look pretty snazzy, if I do say so myself.

Sew, what have you been making for your table lately. (that pun has yet to get old!) Head on over to the Dare to DIY party with Newly Woodwards, Decor and the Dog, Maybe Matilda and Two Twenty One for lots more ideas and inspiration.

26 thoughts on “MYOTL {Make Your Own Table Linens}

  1. Oh, so beautiful! I love how even the traditional color scheme looks so fresh and modern and fun on your table. Those lanterns look super cute, and I love all the ornaments worked in. Gorgeous!

  2. Gorgeous! Makes me wish my dining table wasn’t always covered with mail and other stuff.
    I’m glad I’m not the only one who can’t sew a straight line :)

  3. Beautiful! And yay for Ikea lanterns! I love the fabrics you chose, and you can’t go wrong with the classic Christmas color combo (ooh, alliteration). Thanks for linking up!

  4. Pingback: Pinterest-ing Home Office Updates {Organization} | Home Sweet Here

Leave a Comment

