Go Big or Go Home {Master Bedroom Upgrade}

A picture is worth a thousand bajillion words. That’s an exact number. If you don’t believe me, take a picture of a room and tell me you don’t see every teeny little flaw. It’s true and it happened to me.

I love our master bedroom and I do not regret showing it to you first in my quest to update that pesky little home tour page. It is one of my favorite rooms in the whole house, but when you take a picture, edit it and look at it over and over again, and then you think about all the people out there in blogland who looked at it over and over again, you see the flaws.

The ginourmous pimple in my room was already on my to do list, but it quickly moved to priority #1 the more I looked at the pictures The wood tone one was a hand-me-down (thanks, mama) and the mirror one was perfect compared to the even teenier one I started out with (thank you again, mama!) but the more and more “finished” the room became the more I became aware that the scale was totally off.

So I did what anyone would do, I went big. Way big. Probably too big for some but I’m ok with it. Remember this guy and his twin?

Do you get where this is going? Oh yea. I bypassed nightstands all together and went for MATCHING DRESSERS. Most of the time, I’m a firm believer in different (yet totally balanced!) side tables but I went matching and did I mention HUGE??????

But wait! Are they really perfect? hmmmm. Am I the only one who has random pieces of drawer hardware just laying around to try out? I can be a bit picky in the hardware department but to be totally honest, I had no problem with the Ikea pulls. They were silver with some black tones in them and worked. Until this guy entered the picture. 

Oh my. That does make a difference. Jump in car. Drive quickly to Lowe’s. Grab 3 more.

But wait, again. As I was walking down the aisle at Lowe’s to leave with new hardware in hand, something pulled be back (pun intended).Hello, lover. I loved them. Robb loved them. We all lived happily ever after. The end.

Pictures? ok!

Sometimes I make a change in the house and I love it, but it’s the “it will work until I find perfection” kind of love. This one turned out to be “I want to spend the rest of my life with you kind of love.” I’m no design expert but I can feel balance. This change got me there for the master bedroom. The strange thing is, the more and more I discover my style, the more I realize I am not a fan of teeny furniture. My house is by no means big, but it is HUGE compared to the doll house I lived in previously. So maybe that explains my aversion to teeny furniture. Even in small spaces, if you use something that feels big initially, it’s usually right in the end.  Do you feel the balance? I do. I like to just sit there and look at how much more “finished” it looks and feels.  As for my to do list, let’s revisit that.

  • Artwork
  • Crown molding
  • Bigger nightstands (maybe in bright white?)
  • Bench for the end of the bed
  • Maybe paint the dresser- I just can’t decide

As for Avery, she’s a fan of the new addition too. I think she likes all the extra storage space. 

3 thoughts on “Go Big or Go Home {Master Bedroom Upgrade}

Leave a Comment

