(Outside) Flowers for Friday

It has been the strangest summer ever. A serious drought followed by record rainfall does not make for the prettiest of plants, but somehow, all the extra love and water I gave the plants actually helped.

The frost almost got my crepe myrtle and I really didn’t think it was going to bloom. I was so disappointed because look at it last year.

But somehow when it finally rained, it bloomed bigger and better than ever.

Then there is my favorite little knock out rose bush. It is the only one I’ve ever seen that is this beautiful buttery yellow color. And it changes sometimes more white, sometimes more yellow and every once in a while a pretty soft pink. I’m sure it has something to do with the pH levels in the soil but I’m just going to think of it as my magic rose bush. For the first part of the summer, it was not so magical. I don’t know if it was the drought or a disease but the leaves were eaten up with holes and it stopped blooming. I kept feeding, watering and loving and somehow it came back. Oh it makes me so happy!

I love it so much I added a clearance bright pink one from walmart and she has really taken off too!

Remember my teeny little marigolds lining the garden bed? They exploded (as did my garden- but I’ll save that update for another day) They’re doing their job of keeping out critters too!

And last but not least, a little surprise. The “flower” part is just now showing itself but here’s a happy little surprise. Last year’s pumpkin is this year’s surprise. I hope it’s the Cinderella one and that you have a wonderful weekend!

Leave a Comment