Countdown to Christmas: Making a List

I took a little break and I bet all two of you who read about my little Christmas Challenge thought you were off the hook didn’t you? No such luck! It’s time to get busy! Who’s ready for task two? I am, so let’s get started!

I told you this was going to be super simple and that’s exactly how we’re going to start. We’re going beyond easy with making a list (or three :)) I think the easiest way to plan for anything big or small is to make a list. If we can start organizing and thinking ahead it’s easier to be prepared and that is exactly how I’m hoping to approach Christmas. Grab your pen and let’s make a list!

1. Your gift list- Some stay the same every year and some change but list as much as you can. If you draw names it’s ok to say “cousin gift for Aunt Lucy’s house,” right now. If you have a secret santa at work- list that, too. If you think there is a gift in the future WRITE IT DOWN. That way when you spot that perfect gift on sale or idea on Pinterest you can glance at your list and see if it fits. If it does- DO IT!

2. Your card list- Some people keep this running all year. If that’s you, you’re done. If not start now! I didn’t send cards last year and I don’t know if I will this year yet but I’m going to be ready. Take an extra couple of minutes to update any addresses you may need too. I can’t tell you how much I hate getting that text a week before Christmas for my address (unless you’re sending money ;)) That may be a really silly pet peeve, but you had my address last year- save yourself some time!

3. Your event list- Most Christmas events are annual traditions so you know what to plan. Write them out- family events, work events, a dinner with a friend- whatever you might have going on, write it down. Just like your gifts, you can start thinking about what you’re going to do or bring, how you want to set the table, or whatever helps you prepare.

For some bonus points create a binder or just get a simple spiral notebook to keep it all together all season. Whatever is easiest for you- as long as you use something you can find and continue to use for the next five months.

Are you with me? I did this over the weekend and it took me less than 30 minutes to make all three lists. Really. How much easier is it to spend 30 minutes now than in December. You’re very welcome :)

5 thoughts on “Countdown to Christmas: Making a List

  1. Pingback: Countdown to Christmas: Pretty Wrapping | Home Sweet Here

Leave a Comment

