Look What I Planted: Summer Garden, Part 4

Let’s just start things off with a confession. I am that crazy girl who stands in the backyard and just gazes lovingly at her little garden. I may do this multiple times a day. If there is anything wrong with this, I don’t want to be right.

My little garden makes my day, clearly, multiple times a day. Come to my house and you will have to walk outside and take look at the progress. Even if you were just here yesterday, or 5 minutes earlier.

So, if you saw my garden where we last left it, you probably remember it looking like this: 

You may be wondering if I’m loving my little bed of dirt that much, which wouldn’t be totally out of character for me BUT it is not the case this time because look what I got… My mama and I made a little trip to our favorite nursery (if you’re in Middle Tennesse- It’s Needhams in Mt. Juliet.) They have a great selection of really healthy, beautiful plants and we had a coupon. Can’t beat that.

So let’s start planting! I had a lot of plants and wanted to make the most out of my space so a grid would work out perfectly. I measured everything off…

… and placed a little nail at my marks and then tied some yarn to it on each end. Yes, twine would have worked a lot better, but I had yarn. Use what you’ve got, right?

I did this on both sides so it ended up looking like this. 

Then I repeated it the other way until I had a super pretty grid. I got so excited to start placing my plants I forgot to take a completed grid picture, but you get the idea. I played musical plants until I finally got them in place and started planting. This little guy even joined me for a bit. And by joined me I mean nearly scared me to death when he jumped in my pepper square. But he was cute, so I let him stay awhile. 

I planted and watered and whispered nice things to them and now I just watch them grow! I did tomatoes and peppers in this row and left room for my sweet pepper seedlings that survived the great fall when they’re finally ready. 

Herbs are in the middle, lettuce on one side and then the items that need to climb and/or spread out- cucumbers, squash, etc. on the outsides. I have visions of fresh herbs and veggies all summer, don’t you? If you notice the little marigolds around the outside, I do that to keep out pests. It’s always worked so I hope it does this year too. #fingerscrossed

And that is what I’ve planted so far! If you noticed there are still a few blank squares, I have  great plans for those but I’ll share that another day so be sure you come back. And if you’re visiting from Centsational GIrl’s link party Welcome and if you’re not- head over there and see a whole lot more planting going on! 

6 thoughts on “Look What I Planted: Summer Garden, Part 4

  1. i love how orderly it looks, and you seem to have so many veggies coming your way. that’s awesome!

  2. Your garden is going to be wonderful. We planted (among other things) two pepper plants and two tomato plants and I couldn’t believe how much they produced! We canned salsa with the tomatoes last August and still have a few jars left in our pantry.

  3. Pingback: DIY Garden Markers- Project Fail | Home Sweet Here

  4. Pingback: Making the Grade {2012 Goal Review} | Home Sweet Here

Leave a Comment

