Too Much, Too Little, Just Right: Painted Candles

Part of the “Springification” (pretend that’s a real word, please) of the living room was to tone down the red and play up the springy green. When I updated the gallery wall, I took out all the red there. So this little corner was a bit much.

I realize they are just candle sticks, but they were too red! (and also too crooked. Note to self: straighten before pictures!)

So I tried white.

FAIL! Too white.

And then I remembered these beautiful striped ana candles  I saw on Design*Sponge. Lightbulb. The colors weren’t exactly what I was looking for but why not paint my plain white tapers? Ok, good idea!

So I taped them off…

Then I painted them with some leftover wall paint (Valspar LaFonda Olive. I love it!)

and used the candle holders to hold let them dry.

(You may ask why an accident prone person such as myself was painting in the middle of the living room floor and I have a simple answer. It was a Sunday and my National Champion Kentucky Wildcats were embarrassing Baylor) 

When I finally peeled off the tape, the green was a bit intense against the stark white

So I added a soft coat of white acrylic to tone and down. (with hope of also cleaning up my messy lines. Perfectionists, look away)

This is another one of those projects that didn’t turn out anywhere near perfect BUT I really like it. They’re neutral, but still interesting. What do you think- don’t they fit much better now?

(just a note- I have no idea about how safe painted candles are to actually burn so I’m not even going to try it and if you paint some too, I encourage you to refrain from the flame as well. Switch to the plain whites when you light them. The flicker of the candlelight will totally cancel out the blahness and I firmly believe that blahness beats a visit from the fire department any day. You can trust me on that, I’m the daughter of a former fireman.) 

8 thoughts on “Too Much, Too Little, Just Right: Painted Candles

  1. Hi! I just wanted to let you know how much I love your blog! I’ve nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award today, check out my post for details. Keep up the good work!

  2. Pingback: Growing Candles: Wheat Grass Craft | Home Sweet Here

  3. I googled Painted candles and your blog came up. I’m so glad someone already tried this. Going to try this right now. Thank you

Leave a Comment

