My Kind of March Madness: Flea Market 101

I hope you’re not tired of hearing about the Nashville Flea Market already because it happens again this weekend and I’m headed that way with my BFF! If you’ve spent 3 seconds at home sweet here, you know that I love me some flea market (if this is your first visit, welcome and take a look here or here to learn more about my obsession.)

For those of you that are anti-flea market, don’t stop reading here. This is kind of for you. When I am bragging about all of my fabulous flea market finds, a lot of people tell me they’ve tried it and just can’t find anything. They don’t get how to look. So, when I went in February, I did some shopping for you. I found so many great things that I think you’ll like and hopefully, you’ll be inspired and I’ll see you there this weekend, loaded down with goodies.

First and foremost, you have to see the rehab potential and look past redon’ts. For example- look at the shape, size and sturdiness of these chairs. Ignore the awful fabric and silver spray paint. These chairs were $35 for the set (read that again, $35 for the SET, like 4 chairs) and make-over gold.

Laugh at the oddities, but try not to have nightmares. I’m all for seeing potential, but who would buy this?

If Pinterest is your crack, consider the flea market your dealer. Old door knobs to make the perfect coat hanger deal, check. Furniture pulls, check. Skeleton Keys, check. Mason jars, check.

What about these lanterns? Clean and paint them and they’re better than Pottery Barn. I would love these in a bright color, lighting my patio steps. Pretty!Industrial lights are everywhere. Including the flea market. Look at how huge these are? I’m sure they could be rewired and cleaned up and make the perfect obnoxiously large pendant light. (thanks mama for modeling next to it so we can see how HUGE these are!)You’ll find pretty new stuff, too. These bunnies were almost too cute to resist. I heart bunnies.

Everyone needs a seasoned cast iron skillet. Period. You will find plenty here for great prices. Mmmmmm, cornbread. 

Ever break a crystal off your chandelier or lamp. I have really. Well someone else broke one off a lamp carrying it out of the flea market for me. This is where your find your replacement. Or your inspiration for a little gaudy project.

Back to some oddities. Please laugh with me. 

Why did the chicken cross the road? To go home with you. These are not quite my style, but if I liked to decorate with chickens, these are as cute as they get. And here is Robb’s birthday present. Shhhh, don’t tell. Love the shape of these lamps- paint, a new light kit, and pretty shades and these are so perfect, Taylor Swift may write a song about them. Look for unusual items. Like these puppies. I wanted them so much, but not $35 much. Let’s talk Linens. Etsy has a bajillion people making the cutest little aprons you’ve ever seen. Unless you’ve been here. These are old, homemade and they ooze with character. And they’re cheap! Speaking of linens, hankies are so stinking cute and only $2. These babies are not just for nose blowing. 

Especially this one. If my name even had a C in it I would buy this and frame it. This is beautifulMetal is also in abundance. My BFF got some coppery tiles like this several years ago here for her half bath. They are beautiful. I copied her in my half bath, but mine came from Hobby Lobby and don’t have near the character. Sarah wins. The flea market wins. Notice the bull head in the corners if both of these pictures? Why do I want that? 

For Swamp People watchers- “Choot-em, Liz-beth”I heart the flea market, obviously. It’s frugal, original, and I really think everyone could find something. Each month is different and some are much better than others. But hopefully you’re starting to see what it has to offer. There are 2 things left for you to do.

1. give the flea market a try this weekend and

2. raise the roof if you love it. 

2 thoughts on “My Kind of March Madness: Flea Market 101

  1. Pingback: BFF Staycation Part1: Thrifty Thrifterson Flea Market Shopping | Home Sweet Here

  2. Pingback: This Little Piggy went to (The July Nashville Flea) Market | Home Sweet Here

Leave a Comment

