Project Pretty: Jewelry Organization Solution

Pssssttt… this is an old project. Check out how I upgraded and updated here. Thanks! 

If you’re visiting from I Heart Organizing, WELCOME! I heart that you’re here!

I bet most of you have experienced this before too, but I find that sometimes organization comes out of desperation. I had long term goals and I even bought the nice cutlery trays I was going to paint and make all pretty. This was going to be the perfect solution to my jewelry storage needs, but  it was getting insane. I don’t have that much jewelry, but it was out of control- the drawer would rarely be closed, there was always stuff all over the dresser and I would wear the same pair of earrings and necklace all.the.time because it was on top and easiest.

I had had it! I was so over it and this past weekend I had to do something. It was that kind of insane whirlwind type project where I cleared the dresser and started sorting without even thinking to snap a picture. Just trust me, it was bad. When I got it all sorted, here’s what it looked like:

YIKES!! But when I got this far, there was no turning back so I started looking around for what might work- and waiting for paint to dry, leaving the house or buying anything were not options.

So, I tried drawer organizers and nothing fit. Nothing. So I remembered how I’ve seen tons of picture frames used as pretty jewelry organizers and grabbed one that I retired from my gallery wall and started digging through my fabric remnants.

I went cheap and easy on this. If it wasn’t already at our house, it wasn’t an option. I used the cardboard that was already behind the frame (I already broke the glass, convenient mistake :)) and just stapled a layer of batting to the frame…

and trimmed it so it wouldn’t interfere with the frame.  

I’m sure you can tell already that this project requires a high level of skill and some really sophisticated materials. Or maybe not.

Moving on, I didn’t really like any of my fabric remnants for this. I wanted the jewelry to show up not just hide in some pattern. When all else fails, use burlap!

I added a layer of scrap drapery lining fabric and then a double layer of leftover burlap. This stuff came from Lowes and was totally worth the $10 roll. I use it everywhere!

This is where it gets really tricky. You may want to write this part down. Pop the frame on it, flip it over, trim and staple. Whew. Did you get that? Here’s some pictures to help :)(please ignore my zebra jammy panted knees. I think those are my creative pants :))

And that, my friends is it! I hung it up in the closet and used straight pins from my sewing basket as “hooks” and that did it. It really, really was that easy! Are you ready for the finished pretty project? Well, let’s take a look…

I even found a smaller frame and made a little friend for my earrings. The burlap is perfect for hanging them through…

I am still planning on making the cutlrey tray organizer one day when I have time for paint to dry, but for now I am totally loving this pretty solution! And guess what? It works! I am wearing earrings lately that I forgot I had. And my bracelets are tucked away in the drawer that once overflowed.

Pretty- check.

Functional- check.

Zero Dollars- (c)heck yes!

IHeart Organizing

Don’t forget to check out my updated jewelry organization project HERE. Thanks! :)

 

9 thoughts on “Project Pretty: Jewelry Organization Solution

  1. Pingback: Biscuits, Buttercups and Tons of Pictures (Oh My!) | Home Sweet Here

  2. Pingback: Oops, I Lost my Desk Again | Home Sweet Here

  3. Pingback: 2012- How you doin’? | Home Sweet Here

  4. Pingback: Jewelry Organization: Upgrade | Home Sweet Here

  5. Pingback: Jewelry For My Jewelry {Push Pin Makeover} | Home Sweet Here

Leave a Comment

