Grandma’s Night Stand goes GREEN: How-To

Happy Monday, friends! I don’t know about you, but I have a serious, SERIOUS case of Spring fever so what better time to show you a cheerful paint project I completed this summer. I think it will bring a little early Spring for all of us.

I’ve said it a few times but let me say it a few more, I’m on a budget so I have to spend wisely on all my projects. Found items are the best because they are FREE and in the case of this little nightstand, they have tons of character.

Almost great, right? I love the shape and lines. I even love the pulls that came with it. I experimented with another one (see it on the table) and it just didn’t “fit” like the old long ones. Just look beyond the awful old brass and you’ll see it too.

I’ve tried to keep a fairly neutral palette in the living room- working with the existing builder color and pretty, neutral furniture. Sounds pretty boring but I’m bringing in my color with accessories and artwork- just those appropriate yet fun punches of color.

This little table needed a punch and I just happened to have leftover paint from the dining room, which adjoins the living room. Not only will it provide that “wow” I was looking for, but it will also tie the two spaces together even more.

So here is my step-by-step to reviving a tired old piece of furniture with tons of pictures. I’ve tried to outline just how simple it really is so if you’ve been apprehensive about a project like this, fear no more. Grab your paint brush and let’s get started!

1. Undress it. Remove all the hardware, take out the drawers and any other extras.

2. Rough it up. Use steel wool and/or sandpaper to “knock the shine off” so the new paint can stick. This piece required steel wool and some sanding, but some may be ok with just one and a little elbow grease. Wipe off all your dust.

3. Start Priming! A small foam roller is perfect for this.

4. Cut In. Use a smaller brush to “cut-in” all the little nooks and crannies.

5. Wait. Let the primer dry and repeat until it’s covered. Check the instructions on your primer to see how long it needs to fully dry between coats, mine said an hour but it was dry much quicker as i did this in the summer when it was 592 degrees in the garage.  Here is one coat vs. 2 coats. You can really see it starting to cover.

Sometimes just 1 coat does the trick. In this case, I had to do 3 coats. It’s hard to tell in this picture, but look really closely and you can see some brown spots bleeding through. These may show through your paint, so keep on priming until it’s all white.

6. Multitask. As you’re waiting for everything to dry. Turn your attention to your hardware. No wasting time around here!

    1. You’ve already removed it, so I like to use the screws and just attach it to a piece of cardboard so it stands up.
    2. Rough it up a bit with your steel wool and clean off all the dust.
    3. You already know about my love for, Rust-oleum’s Oil-Rubbed Bronze Magic Spray Paint so you know it makes it so easy! It looked pretty great after 1 coat, but I did 2 to be sure everything was covered.
7. On with the color. Now, your 3 coats of primer are dry, your 2 coats of ORB on the hardware is drying so you are ready to PAINT! I mentioned I was using leftover wall paint for this project. (If you love it as much as I do it’s Valspar from Lowe’s in La Fonda Olive.)
We’re going to do the paint a bit differently from the primer. For the piece and the drawers (which I forgot to take pictures of, oops!) You want to start with cutting in the nooks and crannies with your brush. This way, the biggest part will be the crispest.
8. Keep Painting. Now grab another small foam roller and start painting!
9. Wait some more. Let it dry in between coats and repeat until it’s covered and smooth.
10. Keep Waiting. Let it dry as long as you can before replacing the hardware and drawers. I left this one in the inferno of the garage overnight and it was perfectly dry. Then i waited another day+ before putting anything on it.
I’ll leave you with another little teaser of a finished product, but you’re going to have to come back for the whole thing. I know it’s just tortuous, but  what do you think so far?
Pssst.. Want to see the finished product? It’s all here. Your suspense is over :)
3 thoughts on “Grandma’s Night Stand goes GREEN: How-To

  1. Pingback: Grandma’s Nightstand goes GREEN- The Reveal | Home Sweet Here

  2. Pingback: Office Redo- Use what you got Storage Solution | Home Sweet Here

  3. Pingback: Too Much, Too Little, Just Right: Painted Candles | Home Sweet Here

Leave a Comment

