When Life Hands You a Lemon, Clean Your Kitchen!

I want to share a few of my favorite, crazy easy cleaning tips with you today. I know I’ve read this all somewhere before, so I cannot take credit for them (or give credit since I can’t remember where- it was a long time ago). But I have personally weaved them all together to get lots done with very little so I had to share. Did you know you can clean your microwave, refrigerator and freshen your garbage disposal with ONE LITTLE LEMON? Don’t believe me?

Here’s how:

Just slice the lemon up and place it in a glass microwave safe measuring cup (I like my 4 cup Pyrex the best), then fill it about 3/4 full with water. Place the whole cup in the microwave for about 5 minutes, then leave the door closed for a few more minutes. If it needs some extra cleaning, you may want to repeat this step. When you open the door, the lemony goodness has steamed the stinky not-so-goodness and you can just wipe it off with a sponge! Really, it’s that simple.

So, now you have a bowl full of hot lemon juice. Don’t waste it. Grab a clean sponge and wipe down your refrigerator shelves. It will clean them right up and you don’t have to worry about any chemical cleaners in there with all of your fresh food.

But wait! There’s more! You have a bowl full of-not-so-fresh lemons and juice and you’re still not done! Pour the lemons and juice down the garbage disposal and it will deodorize it for you. Next time you flip the switch, instead of the icky leftovers you just cleaned out of your fridge, you’ll get lemony freshness. I’ll take lemony freshness over those smells any day!

Leave a Comment

